Tilt Shifting

I have always been interested in toys. Imagination cast in plastic. Not all toys are good toys, but the good ones, the ones that get played with until the paint is worn off, all the joints go soft and all the accessories are long lost, those are the good ones. The keepers. A good toy for me has always been one that immediately invites me to imagine. I see a toy and a tiny little portal opens up and pulls me in, like a miniature event horizon. That moment is pure magic and electric, I don’t need the Large Hadron Collider, I have a old Snake Eyes G.I Joe that is just as powerful.

So it should be no surprise then that I am completely insane for tilt-shift miniature faking then. You mean I can can take photos of my adventures and travels and make them look like miniature dioramas? That I can make real places look like toy places? SIGN. ME. UP. In a good fake tilt-shift, my imagination is provoked as much as my eye, and I cannot help but fall into the picture and explore. My best results so far (and I’m still learning) is of Tokyo, taken from my hotel window and of Nancy Pelosi speaking at the 2008 Democratic National Convention at Mile High Stadium. Check it:

~ by colonycollapse on September 15, 2008.

One Response to “Tilt Shifting”

  1. Those photos are awesome! How are you “faking” these? Do you have a tilt-shift lense, or are you photoshopping? If the later – how?

Leave a Reply

 
