The Gold Suit

The best department store in the world is Tokyu Hands in Japan. Tokyu Hands is a chain of multi-floored shopping that spans everything, I mean, e v e r y t h i n g, you could possibly ever need. except clothes. they have those too, but they aren’t much to blog about. Anyone who has ever been to Tokyo, Osaka, or any major metropolitan city within Japan can attest to the magnificence and glory that an afternoon spent browsing through Tokyu Hands brings to their life. If you visit Japan and skip Tokyu Hands, I’d argue you missed Japan. Where else can I buy a new watch, some gorgeous paper and a beautiful pen, some toys, a ingot of solid copper, a new suitcase, some light snacks, and a full body GOLD SUIT COSTUME any time of the year. Forgive me, I couldn’t resist the temptation. I saw the costume and immediately a photo project leapt into my mind: Gold costume and routine life moments. Why not. I know it might seem that I am a brash American tourist throwing my Western whims in the face of the conservative, reserved Japanese, but I assure you, I only donned the costume (or had a friend don the costume) in private places and we tried to keep a low profile. This whole adventure began with me wearing the suit on the shinkansen to Tokyo. Here’s a few of the best shots, with photo credit going to Lucas Cotterman.

Gold PaperGold RockGold Ticket

~ by colonycollapse on February 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Gold Suit”

  1. Somehow I doubt the gold suit costume will make an appearance on stage, but one can dream!

  2. I need a droid that understands the binary language of moisture vaporaters. AKA, this is hilarious.

Leave a Reply

 
